Meri sresth kavitayen (Hindi, Hardcover, Hari Vansh Rai Bhachan)

The book is a collection of some of the best poems written by renowned poet Harivansh Rai Bachchan.

Summary Of The Book

Harivansh Rai Bachchan is counted as one among the greatest Indian poets of the 20th century. His poems formed a major part of the neo-romantic movement in Hindi literature. Meri Shreshtha Kavitayen brings together some of the finest works of his poetic genius which have been selected by the poet himself.

Meri Shreshtha Kavitayen provides an extensive view of his body of work, even covering poems that he wrote at the beginning of his writing career. The collection is also reflective of the literary development during his time, spanning an entire era in Hindi poetry. Poems in the book include Bachchan’s most famous composition Madhushaala, as well as other poems such as Madhukalash, Nisha Nimantran, Bangal Ka Kaal, and Gaar Ke Idhar Udhar.

About Harivansh Rai Bachchan

Harivansh Rai Bachchan was an eminent Indian poet.

He is best known for his book Madhushala, which consists of a series of 135 poetic verses. Ekaant Sangeet, Soot Ki Maala, and Ubharte Pratimaano Ke Roop are among his other poetical works. He is also known for translating a number of great literary works, including Khayyam’s Rubaiyat, Shakespeare’s Macbeth, and the Bhagvad Gita.

Bachchan was one of the pre-eminent writers of the Chhayavaadi tradition of Hindi literature. His writings primarily focused on humanist and romantic themes, often delving deep into the social mores of his time.

He was born in 1907 in Allahabad. Though his paternal surname was Shrivastav, he later adopted the title of Bachchan as his formal surname. He received his higher education at Allahabad University and at Banaras Hindu University, and later went on to teach English Literature at Allahabad University for over a decade. He was nominated to the Rajya Sabha in 1966. Among the many honours conferred upon him are the Sahitya Akademi Award and the Padma Bhushan.

Selected Poems (English, John Keats)

The Poems of John Keats is a collection of Keats’ poetry, remarkable in its demonstration of Keats’ development  as a poet. The ones belonging to his first volume of poetry (1817) lack organization and complexity, but, in their painful honesty, hint at the genius that was even then being honed. By the time he wrote Endymion, and his famous odes, in 1819, Keats had been transformed. His later work is more complex, the language is rich and sensual, the themes he explores have their root in human consciousness. Keats died when he was twenty-six, but as this collection of poetry shows, he had already written some of the most perfect lyrical poetry in the English language. Through the veins of each of the poems runs a single consciousness that is preoccupied by the nature of beauty, the transience of time and the immortality of art. That consciousness could belong only to Keats.

About the Author
John Keats 
(1795-1821) is considered, despite his death at the age of twenty-six, one of the most important figures of early nineteenth century Romanticism. The ideas and themes in Keats’ poetry are quintessentially Romantic: the reverence for nature, the relationship between creativity and the imagination, the notion of beauty and suffering, and the transience of human life.

Leave A Comment